Earlier in the day the practice race attracted a small fleet to the water for a foretaste of the week ahead which is predicted to have largely offshore, moderate winds.

In late May the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club announced that the $100,000 match racing regatta was rescheduled to late October in the hope that the virus might be more manageable.

The regatta will see two days of short-course, ‘around the buoys’ fleet racing on Mooloolaba’s beautiful Mooloolah River, utilising the club’s Olympic class Elliott 6 fleet of keelboats.

The fleet was sent out early on the final day, in what was predicted to be the only window of opportunity all day, but the light wind soon died to leave a glassy sea and the boats were towed back to the marina.

The fleet sizes are smaller than usual, but there was a huge desire on the part of the class, the sailors and the organisers for the event to go ahead.

The decision was made in light of the significant increase in the infection curve due to several outbreaks in the Costa Smeralda area and in Porto Cervo in particular.

Next week’s Europeans will be the first international event for the class since the coronavirus pandemic began, and the first European Championship for the class since 2013.

The owners and Organising Authority of the 44Cup have today made the final decision to cancel the remaining two events of the 2020 season.

Rob, one of only three skippers from the northern hemisphere to win the world’s premier 18 Footer championship, and his RMW Marine-sponsored team totally dominated the 2004 regatta with winning margins averaging two minutes.

Muhonen, from Finland, wrapped up an almost flawless week with three more race wins to take his third Silver Cup title.

Only one race was possible on the fourth day of the U23 Finn World Championship for the Finn Silver Cup, at Canet en Roussillon, France.

David Hows purchased the 72-foot steel yacht Silver Fern in August 2020 after successfully campaigning his Beneteau 445 yacht Ocean Gem out of the Southport Yacht Cub since 2014.

The Finn enjoyed three race wins from three races in near perfect conditions.

The Yacht Club Costa Smeralda's team has debuted with a second place finish in their first regatta in preparation for the Youth America's Cup, scheduled to take place in Auckland between February and March 2021.

Again light winds dominated the day with close tricky racing within the small but competitive youth fleet.

The opening day brought light winds and some very tight racing among the small fleet who made it to the south of France amid tightening travel restrictions from many countries.