Nominations now open for Yachting Australia Awards 2015

Recognising the achievements of members of the sailing and boating community over the past 12 months, as well as acknowledging those who have contributed to our sport for many years, will take place at the Yachting Australia Awards 2015.  Nominations are now open for this years’ Awards and clubs and their members are encouraged to submit nominations, with the honours to be presented at a gala celebration in Sydney on Friday 6 November.

Nominations will be accepted in the categories of Male Sailor of the Year, Female Sailor of the Year, Sailor of the Year with a Disability, Youth Sailor of the Year, Sport Promotion Award, Sport Professional Award and Lifetime Achievement.  Members of affiliated clubs can submit nominations by supplying their current Yachting Australia number, with the signature of the club commodore prior to the closing date of 5pm Monday 21 September 2015.

Yachting Australia President Matt Allen is encouraging clubs and members to submit nominations saying, “The annual Yachting Australia Awards are an important date in the sailing calendar and a time to celebrate the achievements of so many. Dating back to 1962 when the legendary Jock Sturrock took out the first ‘Australian Yachtsman of the Year’ Award, our rich sailing history has continued to grow with recognition of some of our best sailors, administrators, officials, clubs and events over the decades.

“Clubs and their members have the opportunity to get involved and nominate outstanding sailing performances over the past 12 months, or acknowledge someone who, over many years, has made an exceptional contribution to sailing which has benefitted others”, Matt added.

Nominations are now open in the categories of

Male Sailor of the Year   
Female Sailor of the Year
Youth Sailor of the Year   
Sailor of the Year with a Disability
Sport Promotion Award 
Sport Professional Award  
Lifetime Achievement Award  
CYCA SOLAS Trusts Bravery Award  

At the awards ceremony on Friday 6 November, additional awards will be presented for Coach of the Year, Instructor of the Year, Official of the Year, Club of the Year and the Volunteer Award, with nominations in these categories submitted directly from the State Associations and not available for open nomination.

Nominations are also being accepted for the CYCA SOLAS Trusts Bravery Award which is presented to an individual or crew who demonstrated an act of bravery and risked personal safety during an incident that occurred during a sailing event held in Australia.

Details of awards and selection criteria, along with nomination forms can be found on the Yachting Australia website.

M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts