Ginan wins all in 3rd Coastal Sprint

Nigel Jones and Cam McKenzies J111, Ginan has taken Line Honours and won AMS, ORC and PHS divisions of the 3rd and final West Offshore Product Coastal Sprint race of the season in fickle light winds.

With a shortened course the fleet started outside Port Phillip Heads in light winds of 5 – 8 knots.

McKenzie commented after the race “The race was a little shorter than we’d planned. Nigel did a great start and during that first leg with the code zero flying we managed 8 – 9 knot boad speed, and stretched our lead.”

McKenzie went onto to say “The upwind section was hard as the winds shifted and became fickle and this where our experienced crew really helped spotting the wind shifts.”

“We like the format of the Coastal Sprints and are looking forward to the 70th anniversary race to Apollo Bay which will close off the ORCV Coastal Championship.” finished McKenzie.

“Decisions made can sometimes be good management or a gamble but today they paid off.” Nigel Rose skipper of Algy Rose a Swarbrick S111 went onto to explain “as we rounded the gate off Rye back beach, Ginan had headed more south and most of the fleet took a SW path towards the next mark. We could see that this direction wasn’t going to work for us especially if the winds swung more westerly as predicated.” Nigel went on “So we went alone on a different tack and our gamble today paid off. As the winds did change and provided that extra lift to allow us to make up ground and pass two more boats by the finish.” said Rose.

“Whilst there was some effort to get to the start line, we did enjoy the race and now have two more crew members with ocean racing experience.”

Rose commented, “It’s been quite a journey getting back into the category 3 racing after some time off, but I’m there now and we are looking forward to competing in the 70th Apollo Bay race.”

Entries for the 70th anniversary Melbourne Apollo Bay race are open here

Top 3 race results

1st Ginan (M111) skipper by Nigel Jones & Cam McKenzie
2nd Aileron (R6785) skippered by Leon Cantwell
3rd Algy Rose (SM2105) skippered by Nigel Rose
1st Ginan
2nd Aileron
3rd Pegasus (SM0369) skippered by Andrew Lynch

1st Ginan
2nd Aileron
3rd Algy Rose
Double Handed

1st Xenia (SM1250) Skippered by Koos Theron

Line Honours: Ginan

For full race results here

ORCV Media

Jeanneau JY55
Selden Asymetric Rib Technology
NAV at Home
Selden Asymetric Rib Technology
Race Yachts