Winners declared at ORC European Championship

Today marked the final day of racing on the waters of Capri for the boats competing for the title of ORC European Champion 2021, and the Race Committee was on the water at 10 this morning to position the course and kick off the closing races of the event.

Yesterday’s two windward/leewards brought the fleet to a total of five races held. Very light and shifty air today meant racing could not get underway until 1 pm, when the first start of the day was given in 6-8 knots of breeze from 260 degrees.

Sexy Too had a hard time holding off the opposition – Carlo Borlenghi/Rolex pic

As the wind filled in to 15 knots, two races were held for groups A and C and one for Group B, thus bringing the total races held to seven and six respectively.

At the conclusion of the ORC European Championship, the overall rankings are as follows:

Class A
1 Xio – TP52 – Marco Serafini – Club Vela Portocivitanova – ITA
2 Fever – Swan 45 – Klaus Diederichs – RORC – C.V. Venezia – GBR
3 Freccia Rossa – TP52 – Vadim Yakimenko – Y.C. Calvi – ITA

Class B
1 Fantaghiro – ClubSwan 42 – Carlandrea Simonelli – C.N. Marina di Carrara – ITA
2 Mela – ClubSwan 42 – Andrea Rossi – C.N. Marina di Carrara – ITA
3 Bewild – ClubSwan 42 – Renzo Grottesi – C.V. Portocivitanova – ITA

Class C
1 Scugnizza – Italia 11.98 – Vincenzo De Blasio – Circolo Canottieri Napoli – ITA
2 Sugar 3 – Italia 11.98 – Ott Kikkas – Yacht Club Tallinn – EST
3 Topas – Farr 30 – H. Bruening – KYC – WYC – RORC – GER

Bow down and sailing hard – Studio Borlenghi/Rolex pic

The winners in the Corinthian category for each class also received prizes:

Class A
Tengher – Swan 45 – Alberto Magnani – Yacht Club Italiano – ITA

Class B
Chestress 3 – J122 – Giancarlo Ghislanzoni – Yacht Club Italiano – ITA

Class C
Topas – Farr 30 – H. Bruening – KYC – WYC – RORC – GER

Two special prizes were also awarded: the Trofeo Yacht Club Italiano for the sailing club with the most members on the podium, which went to Club Nautico Marina di Carrara, and the Swan Trophy for the best ClubSwan in the largest class by number – Class B – presented to the Clubswan 42 Fantaghirò, owned by Carlandrea Simonelli.

All information:

M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts
Jeanneau JY55
M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts
West Systems