Thomas Hansson-Mild stays on top of OK Dinghy World Rankings

Thomas Hansson-Mild, from Sweden, stays at the top of the first OK Dinghy World Ranking list of the year, the third list in a row that the 2009 World Champion tops the list, after reaching the number one spot in July 2019 for the first time ever. Fredrik Lööf, also from Sweden, is second with Tomasz Gaj, from Poland in third.

The top seven boats all stay the same with the only climber into the top 10 being Luke O’Connell, moving up from 11th to eighth.

In December 2019, Shane Smith won Sail Brisbane in his brand new Damien Widdy wooden built boat, from Glenn Williams and Kelvin Holtd. Next up was the Australian Nationals in Adelaide, in January, which was cut short by two days because of extreme weather at both ends of the wind range. Rob McMillan dominated the championship to win from Mark Jackson and Tim Davies.

The focus then moved to New Zealand with the National Championship being won by Andrew Phillips, taking a close series and his first national title ever, at Worser Bay in Wellington, from Steve McDowell and Luke O’Connell. At the infamous Turangi International in March, Eric Rone won three out of four races to take the title from McDowell and Rod Davis.

What this season brings has yet to be seen, but we hope the first OK Dinghy World Ranking List of the year is also not the last. With all events in the first half of the European season already cancelled due to COVID-19, results from 2018, with half points, and results from 2019, with full points, will stand until 2021 when hopefully these events will take place again.
Top 20 from 538 entries
The complete list can be downloaded here

1 Thomas Hansson-Mild SWE 100 995.54 11
2 Fredrik Lööf SWE 69 978.21 8
3 Tomasz Gaj POL 1 935.68 14
4 Greg Wilcox NZL 595 880.55 16
5 Luke Gower NZL 573 813.26 8
6 Jan Kurfeld GER 18 772.81 7
7 Ask Askholm DEN 22 771.57 11
8 Chris Turner GBR 44 752.78 7
9 Bo Petersen DEN 1507 745.77 11
10 Steve McDowell NZL 579 735.18 6
11 Luke O'Connell NZL 578 733.47 6
12 Jesper Højer DEN 20 715.65 8
13 Mark Jackson AUS 768 698.38 8
14 Ralf Tietje GER 5 693.35 11
15 Rod Davis NZL 592 677.94 7
16 Henrik Kofoed Larsen DEN 1487 671.17 10
17 Gunter Arndt GER 2 667.40 6
18 Ben Morrison NZL 580 661.41 5
19 Andrew Phillips NZL 559 660.11 4
20 Brent Williams AUS 775 655.07 5


– Robert Deaves

Pantaenius Sailing
Jeanneau Sun Fast
Pantaenius Sailing
Yacht Share Mariner
Listings Added
Multihull Group