Redcliffe hosts largest ever Queensland Laser fleet titles

9 May 23023
Woody Point hosts Historic Queensland Laser regatta
If you wondered what the recent huge fleet of boats off Woody Point was, wonder no more.
A record breaking fleet of Laser dinghies launched from Humpybong Yacht Club on April May 31 and May first.
Humpybong Yacht Club president Ryan McLaughlin said the event was the 2023 International Laser Class Association ILCA competing in their Queensland state titles on Bramble Bay.
“The regatta was the biggest ever fleet of Lasers in the class history in Queensland and attracted not only top state and , national entrants but also world and Olympic level competitors.”
“Entrants came from as far afield at North Queensland, Sydney and Melbourne who welcomed our much warmer weather. Mr McLaughlin said.
He said a large team of humpybong volunteers ensured that the first days competition saw three races successfully held in light and shifty winds after a week of strong winds and big seas.
“Despite light and testing conditions the three laser classes were able to complete their races in time.”
“There were 28 juniors sailing lasers with 4.7 rigs, 46 ILCA6 sailors and 26 ILCA7s.
Many of the skippers were caught out by the light winds and strong outgoing tide which saw tacking duels and close quarter action at rounding marks and finishes.” Mr McLaughlin said.
He said Sunday dawned bright and sunnybut the fleet spent all day floating around as race officials tried desperately to find steady wind. Sadly the wind never arrived and races were cancelled after competitors had been on the water from 11am until 3.30pm.
Winners in the ILCA division 4 were:
1st place overall and 1st U16 – Henry Piggot
2nd place overall and 1st U18 – Chase Taylor
3rd place overall, 1st female and 2nd U16 – Caterina Meyer
2nd female and 2nd U18 – Breanne Wadley
3rd U16 – Jackson Black
3rd female – Molly Schotte
Division 6
1st overall and first Open – Ben Franklin
2nd overall – Travis Wadley
3rd overall and 1st GM – Darryl Beattie
1st female – Kate Baisden
1st GGM – Michael Pitt
1st U17 – Josh King
2nd female – Ali Braden
1st M – Dan Blight
2nd GM – Mark Kennedy
1st U19 – Hugo Ralph
2nd U19 – Frances Beebe
Divison 7
1st overall and 1st U21 – Daniel Costandi
1st Queenslander and 2nd overall – Isaac Schotte
3rd overall – Alexander Bijkerk
1st GM – Andrew Stransky
1st GGM – Michael Wilson
1st A – Matthew Lane
2nd A – Tom McEvoy
For more information about HYC, go to:
Media Contact : HYC President Ryan McLaughlin 0449 675 614.
Media release: Mark Dawson 0430 522 061

NAV at Home
Jeanneau JY55
Selden Asymetric Rib Technology