Queensland's hold on Brisbane-Gladstone Trophy under threat

All of the Eastern states will be represented in this year's QantasLink Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht Race and there is a good chance the Courier Mail Cup may be going to one of these interstate challengers.

Tasmania is represented by last year's winner Alive. The Reichel Pugh design has been with the current owner Phillip Turner for just over a year now and has already brought the crew considerable success including a sixth place in the Sydney Hobart, first place in the Melbourne to Vanuatu Race and, of course, first in the QantasLink Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht Race.

From New South Wales come the impressive Cookson 50, Victoire. Overall winner of the 2013 Sydney Hobart, the former Jazz has also seen success in the Sydney Gold Coast race and the Lord Howe Island Yacht Race. Owner Darryl Hodgkinson was named the CYCA’s Ocean Racing Rookie of the Year in 2011 and in a first, a year later was named Ocean Racer of the Year.

With the cream of Queensland joining these two on the start line for Good Friday, the battle for state supremacy will be hard fought.

The Courier Mail Cup is one of the oldest trophies in Australia presented on a continual basis and the winners names engraved upon it is a who’s who of Australian ocean yacht racing.

Official Website www.brisbanetogladstone.com.au

Nigel Statham

Jeanneau JY60
Jeanneau JY55
NAV at Home