Nominations Open for new-look Australian Sailing Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2023 Australian Sailing Awards, with the annual state events set to recognise clubs and members in all States and Territories for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the sailing community over the past year.

The Australian Sailing Awards are the peak awards for the sport of sailing in Australia and will act as a national celebration of sailing and its significance at a local, state, and national level.

This year’s Awards will have a new look, with the Club of the Year Award being split into two separate categories relating to the size of the club. This will give smaller clubs the opportunity to be recognised for their work growing the sport in their local community.

There will be a new award as well, with the Team of the Year Award recognising a crew of two or more sailors, from any category of sailing, who performed outstandingly in a sailing event(s) or other activity in the nomination period. The Team of the Year will replace the Offshore Sailor of the Year Award, with Offshore teams now in-line to be recognised as a part of the expanded criteria.

Nominations will first be judged for their relevant State Awards, with the winners set to be announced throughout August and September at in-person, state-based presentations.

The winning nominations from the State Awards will then be put forward as nominees to the judging panel of the National Australian Sailing Awards, with national winners to be announced at the Australian Sailing Awards and Hall of Fame Inductions Dinner in Sydney on Friday 3 November.

In 2022 it was the Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club who took out the Club of the Year title after an outstanding season that saw a variety of community and training programs boost their membership by over 30% in 12 months. Australian Sailing Team athlete Mara Stransky won Female Sailor of the Year ahead of a strong field including Nina Curtis and Zoe Thomson, while Tom Slingsby earned a record-equalling fifth Male Sailor of the Year Award following his dominant year across multiple classes. A full list of the 2022 Award winners can be found here.

Nominations for Club of the Year can be placed here, and nominations for all other awards can be placed via this link.

Click here to find out more about the process for this year’s Awards.

Nominations will close at 11:59pm AEST on Monday 31st July 2023 for the following categories:

Individual Award Categories
Male Sailor of the Year
Female Sailor of the Year
Para Sailor of the Year
Youth Sailor of the Year
Team of the Year
Coach of the Year

Club Award Categories
Club of the Year – Category A
Club of the Year – Category B
Instructor of the Year
Official of the Year
Volunteer of the Year

Sport Award Categories
Lifetime Achievement Award
SheSails Award
Sport Professional Award
Sport Promotion Award
Sustainability Award

Race Yachts
M.O.S.S Australia