Nominations open for 2021 Australian Sailing Awards

Nominations for the 2021 Australian Sailing Awards have now opened, giving clubs and club members the opportunity to be recognised for outstanding achievements and contributions to the sailing community across the past year.

The Australian Sailing Awards are the peak awards for the sport of sailing in Australia. By nominating for the Awards all nominees will first be judged for their State Awards, with the State winners being put forward as the nominees for the National Australian Sailing Awards.

State Award winners will be announced throughout August and September via state-based presentations, with the winners of the National awards announced at the Australian Sailing Awards and Hall of Fame Inductions event on November 19.

2019 Coach of the Year Winner - Michael Blackburn.
2019 Coach of the Year Winner – Michael Blackburn. Photo – Gregg Porteous

The period in which performances will be assessed for this year’s awards is 1 August 2020 to 4 August 2021. This period applies for both State and National Awards.

After the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic forced the presentation of the 2020 Australian Sailing Awards online we are looking forward to hosting in-person celebrations at State and National Awards ceremonies, however we will continue to monitor the situation and adapt as required.

Whilst it has been another challenging twelve months for the sailing community, we will once again be looking to celebrate the best aspects of our sport from the hard work of our volunteers; through to the performances of the Australian Sailing Team athletes at the upcoming Tokyo Olympic Games.

Last year it was the Royal Geelong Yacht Club who were crowned the Club of the Year following an impressive Summer of Sailing hosting six major events including a number of world championships. Tokyo-bound Lisa Darmanin received the national award for Female Sailor of the Year and Tom Slingsby was named Male Sailor of the Year. A full list of the 2020 Award winners can be found here.

Australia's Tom Slingsby racing
World-renowned sailor Tom Slingsby won Male Sailor of the Year award in 2020

You can nominate now for the following categories:

Individual Award Categories

  • Male Sailor of the Year
  • Female Sailor of the Year
  • Para Sailor of the Year
  • Youth Sailor of the Year
  • Offshore Sailor of the Year
  • Coach of the Year

Club Award Categories

  • Club of the Year
  • Instructor of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Sport Award Categories
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • SheSails Award
  • Sport Professional Award
  • Sport Promotion Award
  • Sustainability Award

Nominations for Club of the Year can be placed via this link. Nominations for all other awards can be placed via this link

Click here for more information about the Awards process.

Nominations are now open and will close at 5PM AEST on Friday 13th August.

M.O.S.S Australia
M.O.S.S Australia
NAV at Home
JPK 11.80 July 2024