New Zealand wins EFG Nations Cup in Hong Kong

The Kiwis made it a trio of Nations’ Cup wins today with Mills 41 Ambush, skippered by Drew Taylor, pulling a win out on corrected time from German line honours winner das Busch, helmed by Ambush co-owner Joachim Isler.

A quiet turn out on a public holiday weekend did nothing to dampen the spirits of 40 entrants from 13 nations, with English city gents mixing it up with a Hawaiian themed USA team and a drum majorette squad from Hong Kong.

Boats were split into five starts based on their RHKATI ratings, with the HKPN rated entries starting first, and the TP52 of England, Ker 42 of Ireland and Mills 41 of Scotland departing from in front of RHKYC Kellett Island some 90 minutes later.

Race Officer Lucy Sutro had enough confidence in the conditions to set the boats a course which took them outside the eastern harbour limits to Junk Bay, with the fleet rounding TCS 4 before returning through Lei Yue Mun gap and rounding Tai Koo Shing and Kowloon Bay, before passing Hung Hom channel marker and coming in for a committee boat finish close to Kellett Island.

After 2h 27 minutes, das Busch took the gun, ahead of the Australian Flying Fifteen of Oliver Merz and the Kiwi Etchells of Greg Farrell. A steady procession of boats arrived at the finish and, after handicaps were applied, the Kiwi team on Ambush emerged victorious, just over two minutes ahead of the Germans.

The prime objective was to provide a fun day’s sailing for all – mission accomplished!


1st – The Vic Locke Memorial Trophy – New Zealand
2nd – Germany
3rd – England
4th – Australia
5th – Sweden
6th – Switzerland
HKPN – Hong Kong

Best dressed team – Skellum (Hong Kong)
Best dressed boat – Free Fire (England)
Special Commendation – Mind The Bumps (England)

M.O.S.S Australia
NAV at Home
M.O.S.S Australia
Cyclops Marine