Jangada wins RORC Yacht of the Year 2020

The 2020 RORC Yacht of the Year, winning the Somerset Memorial Trophy is the British JPK 10.10 Jangada, owned by Richard Palmer. Racing with Jeremy Waitt as crew, Jangada was the overall winner of the RORC Transatlantic Race and winner of the Two-Handed Class for the RORC Caribbean 600. Only two other Two-Handed teams have won the award before; Shaun Murphy with Slingshot in 2006 and Nick Martin with Diablo-J in 2012.
For the first time in the history of the club the RORC Season’s Points Championship had to be cancelled. Health restrictions made it impossible to run overnight races for all IRC classes. Whilst Richard Palmer was recovering from a knee operation, Jangada was raced Two-Handed by Jeremy Waitt and Shirley Robertson, winning the newly organised Two-Handed Autumn Series.
Since 1965, the Somerset Memorial Trophy has been awarded for outstanding racing achievement by a RORC Member. Despite most of the 2020 season being cancelled, the RORC Committee thought it appropriate to continue with the history of the trophy in highlighting the outstanding racing achievement of Jangada in 2020.
Richard Palmer was asked to comment on receiving the award and what advantages a Corinthian team may have: “I’m delighted for Jangada, for those that have raced onboard, and all the people who support our campaign. As Corinthian sailors we are in control of our campaign, the races we choose, the investment in the boat and the pace we set, which places us under less external pressures or constraints. It is a huge accolade to be recognised by one’s peers in such a way.”
Jeremy Waitt commented on the win and the keys that have unlocked the success: “When you look down the list of previous winners it's incredible to have Jangada as part of that dynasty of yachts. The whole Jangada team, both ashore and afloat, is very proud to be part of this success.
“Success takes patience and time; for us the real effort has been the last 10 years, both with Jangada Too (J/109) and now with Jangada (JPK 10.10). We have systematically worked our way through our approach and left no aspect unturned to find what it takes to win races consistently at this level. We have been lucky to have some great sailors aboard to coach and feedback about our methodologies and this continues to help us gain the incremental margins.”
Jangada is planning to come back racing next year in the 2021 RORC Season’s Points Championship, including the Rolex Fastnet Race. For more information: www.rorc.org
RORC Yacht of the Year
2009-2020 winners – Somerset Memorial Trophy
2020   Jangada, JPK 10.10, Richard Palmer
2019   Wizard, Volvo 70, Peter and David Askew
2018  Ichi Ban, TP52, Matt Allen
2017  Lisa, First 44.7 , Nick & Suzi Jones (skippered by Michael Boyd)
2016  Teasing Machine, A13, Eric de Turckheim
2015  Azzam, Volvo Ocean 65, skippered by Ian Walker (Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing team)
2014  Antix, Ker 39, Anthony O'Leary
2013  Courrier Vintage, MC34 Patton, Sam Marsaudon & Géry Trentesaux
2012  Diablo-J, J/105, Nick Martin
2011  RÁN, JV 72, Niklas Zennström
2010  Tonnerre de Breskens 3, Ker 46, Piet Vroon
2009  Puma Logic, Reflex 38, (skippered by Philippe Falle) 
– Louay Habib
Jeanneau JY55
M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts
West Systems
M.O.S.S Australia
NAV at Home
Cyclops Marine