49th Australian Tasar Champs wrap up

Author: Ben Solly
Photographer: Robert Owe-Young

Following yesterday’s blow out where the breeze and seas were fit for a Tasmanian west coaster, today, Port Philip displayed some hopeful signs of summer. The true uninterrupted 8 to 15 knot southerly breeze played music with its gentle increase throughout the day. The 20 degrees oscillating breeze ranging from 175 degrees to 205 degrees opened the game for hot chess. What an exhilarating sport we live for!!!

The championship was wrapped up in two days on the water and with three races today a drop was allowed which juggled the final outcome. The passion to hit the line on time was strong until the final race leaving many boats OCS. The talent and fine sailing displayed in this regatta was first class, I can’t wait to experience the next notch for the World Championships commencing on the 2nd January 2024.

Enormous Congratulations to Harrison Sly and Zara Challis in Skippy AUS 2976 for holding their lead and taking off the Australian Championships.

Noted recognition to the following championship winners;

Masters Champion (Skipper and crew(s) all 40 years or older) – Chris Dance & Peter Hackett
Grand Masters Champion (Skipper and crew(s) all 50 years or older) – Craig McPhee & Wayne Hale
Super Grand Masters Champion (Skipper and crew(s) all 60 years or older) – Heather Macfarlane & Chris Payne
First Female Helm – Heather Macfarlane
First Youth Helm (helm is 21 years or younger) – Ollie Roodhouse

Click HERE for full results.

M.O.S.S Australia
Cyclops Marine
Jeanneau SF30 OD
JPK August 2023