World Sailing General Assembly candidates named

HM King Constantine and the Election Committee are pleased to announce full details of the candidates eligible for election as President and Vice-President to its Board of Directors.

The President and seven Vice-Presidents, two of which must be from each gender, will be elected at World Sailing's General Assembly in Barcelona, Spain on Sunday 13 November 2016.

Eligible candidates have been endorsed by at least five World Sailing Member National Authorities with the term of office beginning at the close of the General Assembly, at which the Board of Directors are elected for a period of four years.

The General Assembly will be the conclusion of World Sailing's Annual Conference and up to 700 delegates are expected to attend from 4-13 November 2016 at the Hotel Renaissance Barcelona Fira.

The candidates eligible for election at the 2016 General Assembly are:

Presidential Candidates

Kim Andersen (DEN)

Carlo Croce (ITA)

Paul Henderson (CAN)

Vice-Presidential Candidates

Alain Alcindor (SEY)

Chris Atkins (GBR)

Tomasz Chamera (POL)

Jean-Pierre Champion (FRA)

Jan Dawson (NZL)

Torben Grael (BRA)

Gary Jobson (USA)

Stanislav Kassarov (BUL)

Quanhai Li (CHN)

W Scott Perry (URU)

Tony Philp (FIJ)

Ana Sanchez (ESP)

Malav Shroff (IND)

Nadine Stegenwalner (GER)

David Tillett (AUS)

Full details of the eligible candidates, including biographies of each candidate, stated goals and nominating MNAs, are available to view at:  

The Election of World Sailing Board of Directors is covered in Articles 73-76 of the World Sailing Constitution –

The voting system to elect the World Sailing Board of Directors is detailed in World Sailing Regulation 4 –

– World Sailing

Race Yachts
M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts