Tasmanian SB20 champions to take on the “mainlanders” at Blairgowrie

The 2016 SB20 National Championships start in Blairgowrie, Victoria (Thursday 3 March – Sunday 6 March), with Tasmanian SB20 sailors making up half of the fifteen boat fleet.

Recently crowned 2016 SB20 Tasmanian Champions Scott Brain (Ronald Young Builders), Bill Lawrence and Michael Viney along with former world champion sailor Nick Rogers (Karabos), with his crew of Cole Dabner and Simon Burrows will be taking each race up to the locals, especially previous winner Glen Bourke.

Classy SB20 sailor, three-times world Laser champion and former Olympian Glenn Bourke from Queensland (Red) will be out to win yet another title. Bourke has the advantage of welcoming Mark Bulka to his crew, along with SB20 Australian Class President Robert Jeffreys. Bulka is a very experienced sailor as the 2014 World Champion in the Contender Class, former Victorian Sailor of the Year, and an Australian Etchells Champion.

The regatta will be sailed from Blairgowrie Yacht Squadron Inc. Race results will be available at the end of each day from http://www.bys.asn.au/2016-sb20-australian-nationals/

The SB20 one-design sailing class is the fastest growing fleet in Australia with Tasmania hosting the largest fleet of 25 boats.

The Tasmanian SB20 Association in conjunction with The Derwent Sailing Squadron and The Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania will host the 2018 SB20 World Championships in Hobart. 

– Jane Austin

Coursemaster Autopilot
Jeanneau ?Yachts
Multihull Group
Pantaenius Sailing
Jeanneau Sun Fast
Multihull Group