Stars of the future enjoy Melges 24 Young Guns Regatta

The annual Melges 24 Young Guns Regatta is a fantastic opportunity for younger crews to enjoy a day of fun competitive racing in the Melges 24 class, followed by socializing using their regatta card tab at the host club RPAYC.

Each year Australian Melges 24 owner’s hand over their boats to youth sailors and then kick back and watch them carve up the racecourse as they commentate from spectator boats. This year the No Comment team travelled from Lake Macquarie Yacht club to compete.

Pittwater turned on beautiful weather and shifty winds.  The crews enjoyed the super close racing and plenty of banter was going on between races. 

After five back-to-back races Peter Kendall (Amigos) won the regatta one point ahead of Harley Walters (Cavallino) and Andrew Chapman in third place skippering Arriba Arriba

Teams included

Amigos:  Peter Kendall, Jessica Russell, Milly Bennett, Oscar Stranack, Luke Easey

Cavallino: Harley Walters, James Farquharson, Will Dargaville, Harry Hall

Arriba Arriba: Andrew Chapman, Ali Chapman, Emma Knighton, Joe Bourne

No Comment: Lateisha Bower, Jarrod Turner, Brad May, Kurtis Sullivan, Nina Long, Emma Young

+GST: Jordon Girdis, Eveline Rijksen, Barbara Rijksen, Tim Forbes-Smith, Woody Hawthorne

– Tracey Walters, Melges Asia Pacific

Jeanneau SF30 OD
M.O.S.S Australia
M.O.S.S Australia
NAV at Home