RPAYC team head women match racing championship

Eight teams of women sailors from New South Wales, Western Australia, Victoria and Tasmania today began racing for the 2016 Australian Women's Match Racing Championship on Hobart's River Derwent.

Sharing the lead with six wins each after the first round-robin are two talented young crews from Sydney's Royal Prince Alfreed Yacht, Sarah Parker skippering RPAYC1 and Claire Costanzo at the helm of RPAYC.

With four wins each are the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania/Athena Sailing team, skippered by Sam Bailey, and the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia 1 team, headed by Caitlin Thames.

The three day event is being conducted by the RYCT, with the racing in club's fleet of Elliott 6 sports boats.

The joint RYCT/Derwent Sailing Squadron crew skippered by Clare Brown had three match racing wins while Vanessa Dudley (Middle Harbour Amateur Sailing Club, NSW) and Kirstin Norris (South of Perth Yacht Club, WA) each had two wins, 

Victorian Alison Dale from Sandringham Yacht Club scored one win,

Racing began today in light 8-10 knots strengthening to 12-14 knots later in the afternoon.

The full score sheet for today's racing is published on the RYCT web site.

– Peter Campbell

Jeanneau JY55
Jeanneau SF30 OD
M.O.S.S Australia
NAV at Home