Q&A with world-renowned sailors Murray Jones and Jordi Calafat

How do you set up your rig for max speed? Whether you’re talking small boats, multihulls or keelboats, two experts that really know all about rig tune are five-times America’s Cup winner Murray Jones from New Zealand, and 470 Olympic gold medallist Jordi Calafat from Spain. Calafat is also an America’s Cup winner and Volvo Ocean Race veteran. These days he is one of Quantum Sails’ go-to sail designers. 

America’s Cup winner Murray Jones
America’s Cup winner Murray Jones. Photo – Emirates Team NZ

Join the pair for an in-depth Q&A this week with the Road To Gold team. The Road To Gold is an online program developed by former 470 World Champion Hamish Willcox and sailing journalist and commentator Andy Rice. It designed to put your sailing campaign (whether it be at club or olympic level) onto the right track.

Jordi Calafat
Jordi Calafat has an abundance of sailing experience – from 470s to the Volvo Ocean Race and more. Photo – American Magic

Make sure you’re signed up to the Road To Gold Facebook Group to get the Zoom link to the call. 

The Q&A kicks off on Zoom at 10am UK time/ 11am Central European Time on Wednesday morning 7 July. That’s 7pm in Brisbane, Australia, where Hamish is in the final few days of training with Pete Burling & Blair Tuke on their 49er campaign for the Olympic Regatta next month in Tokyo. 

The Q&A will be based around common rig set-up problems and the best solutions. 

Whatever level you’re currently at with your sailing, whatever kind of boat you race, join Hamish and Andy for this 60-minute Q&A session to ask your specific questions. Here’s how you get on the call: 

1. Make sure you’re signed up to the Road To Gold Facebook Group to get the Zoom link to the call. 

2. Click on the Zoom link and register to join the call on Wednesday. 

To subscribe to Live Coaching Calls

For more about the 12-step blueprint for a World Class Campaign: www.roadtogold.net