Harry Price wins NSW Youth Match Racing Championship

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia team of Harry Price, Murray Jones, Finn Gilbert and Ben Robinson has won the Club Marine NSW Youth Match Racing Championship in difficult conditions.

“It’s great to have this result after such a mix of condition over the weekend,” Price said after finishing on top of the round robin with eight wins. Unfortunately the conditions only allowed for one round robin to be completed with no time for semis or finals.

The Sunshine Coast Sailing Team representing Mooloolaba Yacht Club and Noosa Yacht & Rowing Club travelled to the CYCA for the regatta. James Hodgson, Hayden Johnson, Fergus Gillanders and Ben Vercoe had an excellent regatta, taking the points against several of the higher ranked competitors finishing second.

Rounding out the podium places was Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club team of Malcolm Parker, Evelyn Foster, Sam Treharne and Harry Hall. Parker’s last race of the day was the one to determine the podium positions and with Price taking the win, this relegated Parker to third place.

Race Officer Darryl McManus had another tough day battling shifty conditions and trying to push through the required matches. Conditions were similar to those experienced on Saturday, but the glass out in the middle of the day lasted a little longer with the Elliott 7s waiting at the dock. The north-westerly breeze came in at about 10-12 knots just in time to get the last ten races in to complete the round robin before the time limit expired.

“The CYCA team of volunteers on the start boat did a fantastic job over the duration of the weekend in trying conditions,” McManus said. “It was great to have Commodore John Cameron on board for the final matches on Sunday to watch the CYCA not only take the win, but to also witness the racing spectacle provided by competitors.”

CYCA Director and Chairman of the Training & Development Committee, Anthony Dunn, thanked all the competing yacht clubs especially the interstate teams from Sunshine Coast and Sandringham Yacht Club (Nicola Armstrong). He also recognised the CYCA members who accommodated these teams and the umpires on their yachts – John Markos and Michael Delany (Eye Appeal), Derek McDonnell (Applejack), Richard Holstein (Next), John Messenger (Utopia) and David Shmith (Seamist).

Final Standings

1st – Harry Price (CYCA)
2nd – James Hodgson (SCST)
3rd – Malcolm Parker (RPAYC)
4th – Clare Costanzo (RPAYC)
5th – Emma May (CYCA)
6th – Will Dargaville (RPAYC)
7th – Caitlin Tames (CYCA)
8th – Ryan Wilmot (RPAYC)
9th – Nicola Armstrong (SYC)
10th – Nick Rozenauser (RSYS)

M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts