Gascoigne Cup running for the 112th time

A fleet of over 26 yachts will contest the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron’s Gascoigne Cup, one of the oldest and most prestigious short offshore races on the summer calendar, off Sydney Heads this Saturday.

This will be the 112th running of the Gascoigne Cup, although Saturday will mark 135 years since it was first presented to RSYS in 1886, as it was not contested during the war years. Many famous yachts have won this iconic race, including Norn, Caprice of Huon, Apollo and Margaret Rintoul II. The first winner in 1886 was Sir James Fairfax’s Magic, one of the crack gaff-riggers sailing with the Squadron in the 1880s.

The race incorporates Short Ocean Point Score series #3 and Perseverance Trophy Series #1.

To view the list of entries, see:

By Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron

M.O.S.S Australia
NAV at Home
Cyclops Marine
JPK August 2023