Farr 40 OD Trophy: Quick ‘Outlaws’ first to the punch again

After hours of chasing breeze all over Sydney Harbour, PRO Phil Yeomans was only able to get one race away before calling it a day.

“There was not much from anywhere. We had contacts up and down the harbour and even made a call to Tathra down the coast before hoisting AP over A and sending the fleet back to MHYC.”

Congratulations to Tom and Alan Quick's Outlaw for winning their fourth regatta this season, making them the hot favourite going into the NSW State Title and National Championships being held in the coming weeks.

Rob Reynolds and the Exile crew hit the podium for the first time this season just three points behind Edake. Tactician Gary Geitz is pleased to have a set team for the States and Nationals. “Not changing crew every regatta is always a benefit. Last year we had a change of two people every regatta.”

Geitz commented on Exiles crew work. “Our teamwork yesterday wasn't up to scratch. We lead the fleet in the first couple of races and crew work let us down which was costly. We had a good start in today's race. There was a very high tide of 193 metres and were the first to tack soon after the start and stayed on the western shore with the current. Rob (Reynolds) steered well today and was more accurate in the lighter air which is tough.”

Exile appears to be peaking right on time with the States and Nationals looming. Geitz continued, “We have some new sails coming, which coupled with a bit of training should put us where we need to be for the States and Nationals.”

Overall Results:
Pos Sail No Boat Name Skipper R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 Pts
1 AUS040 OUTLAW Tom & Alan Quick 1 8F 1 1 1 12
2 7 EDAKE Jeff Carter 6 3 2 2 3 16
3 8884 EXILE Rob Reynolds 3 5 4 5 2 19
4 64221 ZEN Gordon Ketelbey 2 1 6 6 5 20
5 SM2008 DOUBLE BLACK Rob Pitts 5 2 5 4 4 20
6 8001 FORTY Sam Hill 4 4 3 3 6 20
7 9327 SOLYMAR Jason & Mary King 7 6 7 7 8F 35

The Farr 40 NSW Championship will be held on 2 and 3 February 2019 at MHYC and the following nine boats are confirmed as racing:
1. Double Black (MHYC & SYC)
2. Edake (MHYC)
3. Exile (MHYC)
4. Forty (RSYS)
5. Good Form (NCYC)
6. Nutcracker (SYC)
7. Outlaw (CYCA)
8. Solymar (CYCA)
9. Zen (MHYC)

Jennie Hughes/Farr 40

Jeanneau SO380
M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts
Jeanneau SO380
NAV at Home
Cyclops Marine