Bo Petersen new OK Dinghy World No. 1

It’s been a long wait, but there is finally a new name at the top of the OK Dinghy World Ranking list as the 2016 season gets underway in a few weeks time, with the combined Europeans and Spring Cup in Medemblik.
Bo Petersen from Denmark has been lurking near the top for some time but finally moves into the World No. 1 spot to become only the sixth person to top the list. He is also the third Dane, after previously Jørgen Lindhardtsen and Jørgen Svendsen have topped the list.
This release includes the Australian and New Zealand Nationals, Sail Auckland and the recent Interdominions, also in Auckland.
Though neither Petersen or the fomer World No 1, Greg Wilcox, have sailed in any further ranking regattas, Petersen's qualfying regattas from 2015 now take precedence, while Wilcox drops results from 2014. Petersen's No 1 place comes on the back of a great 2015 season including a bronze at the world championship and a gold at the Nordic championship. With a new boat just launched he is focusing on the 2016 worlds, to be held in Quiberon in July. Last time the class held a major event in the same waters was for 2013 European Championship, which he won.
Wilcox, who has been World No. 1 since December 2013 drop to second, while Rene Johannssen from Denmark retains third place.
It’s been a busy season down under. First, Mark Jackson won the Australian Nationals from Brent Williams and Peter Robinson. The following three events were all in New Zealand, with Luke O’Connell winning the New Zealand Nationals from Ben Morrison and Mark Perrow, then Morrison won the shortened Sail Auckland from Rod Davis and Russell Wood. Finally the Interdominions saw the first major win in the class for Dan Slater, from O’Connell and Mark Jackson.
The 2016 European Championship is being combined with the traditional Spring Cup in Medemblik and promises to be a bumper event as the class begins preparing for its World Championship in Quiberon, followed by the 2017 World Championship in Barbados, which is generating a huge amount of interest from inside and outside the class.
Already there are 70 entries for the 2016 Europeans, which will get the 2016 season well and truly underway. The next release will be just before the World Championship, which so far has attracted more than 90 pre-entries.
Top 20 from 463 sailors


  Name Nation Sail No Points Events
1 Bo Petersen DEN 1431 958.39 12
2 Greg Wilcox NZL 544 922.60 15
3 Rene Johannsen DEN 1442 908.56 15
4 Andre Budzien GER 792 864.21 8
5 Jorgen Lindhartdsen DEN 1420 855.98 15
6 Mark Jackson AUS 735 836.20 7
7 Jorgen Svendsen DEN 3 821.92 8
8 Martin von Zimmermann GER 693 815.46 12
9 Jim Hunt GBR 1 807.47 8
10 Robert Deaves GBR 2156 771.76 6
11 Pawel Pawlaczyk POL 14 761.17 7
12 Bo Reker Andersen DEN 1 739.92 16
13 Stefan Myralf DEN 6 738.66 7
14 Charlie Cumbley GBR 2173 737.50 5
15 Thomas Hanson-Mild SWE 100 737.02 5
16 Andreas Pich GER 797 726.06 11
17 Tomasz Gaj POL 1 725.80 6
18 Henrik Kofoed Larsen DEN 1397 661.84 9
19 Brent Williams AUS 754 661.15 6
20 Alex Scoles GBR 13 654.54 5

Download Full list

Jeanneau SO380
Cyclops Marine
NAV at Home