2024 Hardy Cup – A Launch Pad for Youth Sailors

The prestigious Hardy Cup is set to return to Sydney Harbour from Sunday 4 to Thursday 8 February, 2024. The regatta will celebrate the legacy of Sir James Hardy OBE, America’s Cup Winner, World Champion and Olympic Legend, and the event’s role in developing pathways for promising youth sailors.

Ten upcoming youth match racing teams have been invited to compete at the World Sailing Grade 3 event and will represent six yacht Clubs from Ireland, New Zealand, Western Australia, and New South Wales.

“We are extremely excited to welcome so many international and interstate teams for this year’s event. This continued global interest highlights the role of the Hardy Cup as a launch pad for youth sailors into the international circuit”, commented RSYS Commodore Christian Brook.

The racing will be held directly in front of the RSYS Clubhouse against the iconic backdrop of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Teams will compete onboard Elliott 7 keelboats with symmetrical spinnakers and contest a double-round robin before advancing to a final series.

The 2024 Hardy Cup will be officially opened by the RSYS Flag Officers at the Welcome Ceremony on Sunday 4 February. Qualifier racing is scheduled for Monday 5 to Wednesday 7 February, with the Final series scheduled for Thursday 8 February. The event will conclude with a prize-giving on Thursday 8 February.

For more information on the history of the Hardy Cup visit https://www.rsys.com.au/hardy-cup

Follow the action on the RSYS Hardy Cup Facebook page.

History of the Cup

In 2001, the Squadron hosted the inaugural Hardy Cup. The trophy was donated by Sir James Hardy OBE, who envisioned a regatta experience that could foster the critical and tactical sailing skills of young aspiring champions.

The following helms have won the Hardy Cup, some of who in later years went on to success at the World Match Racing Tour and other professional roles in the sport:

2023 – Will Sargeant, CYCA (AUS)

2022 – Finn Tapper, CYCA (AUS)

2021 – Finn Tapper, CYCA (AUS)2020 – Harry Price, CYCA (AUS)

2019 – Nick Egnot-Johnson, RNZYS (NZL)

2018 – Clare Costanzo, RPAYC (AUS)

2017 – Ashlen Rooklyn, DBSC (AUS)

2016 – William Dargaville, RPAYC (AUS)

2015 – Jay Griffin, CYCA (AUS)

2014 – Jordan Reece, RSYS (AUS)

2013 – David Chapman, RSYS (AUS)

M.O.S.S Australia
NAV at Home
Selden Asymetric Rib Technology
Race Yachts
West Systems