18ft Skiffs JJ Giltinan Championship Invitation Race

After a week of heavy rain, strong winds and widespread flooding along the NSW and Queensland coastline, the 2022 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship regatta began with the traditional Invitation Race on Sydney Harbour on Friday in intermittent rain.

The original concept was to assist visiting teams with learning some of the local conditions, but the race is now used primarily as a final tune-up for the ‘real thing’, which gets underway on Saturday.

The Invitation race confirmed that there is little between the top three teams: Australian champion Andoo, defending champion Smeg and NSW champion Tech2.

Andoo’s team of Seve Jarvin, Matt Stenta and Sam Newton officially won the race by 1m57s from The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines (Aron Everett, John Cooley and Charlie Gundy), with Lazarus Capital Partners (Marcus Ashley-Jones, Jeronimo Harrison and Cam Gundy) a further 1m47s back in third place.

Shaw and Partners Financial Services (Steve Thomas) finished in fourth place ahead of Yandoo (John Winning) and Balmain Slake (Henry Larkings).

Across the Harbour under a bleak sky – Frank Quealey pic

Tech2 (Jack Macartney), Smeg (Michael Coxon), Burrawang-Young Henrys (Simon Nearn) and Queensland’s C-Tech (Dave Hayter) were all rules out of the race for being over the start line on the ‘black flag’ third attempt to get the race away, but all continued for most of the race as part of their preparation for the championship proper.

The fleet was split with the decision to go with the bigger #1 rig or smaller #2.

Andoo chose the smaller while Smeg’s team went big and the decisions provided an interesting race for the lead over the entire course.

At the first mark in Rose Bay, Andoo held a 10s lead over Ilve (Jono Whitty), C-Tech, and Smeg, followed by The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines, Rag & Famish Hotel (Harry Price), Yandoo, Tech2, WA’s Black Swan (Luke Parkinson) and Noakes Blue (Yvette Heritage).

Although officially out of the race, Smeg raced into second place on the long spinnaker run across the harbour to Robertson Point then took the lead away from Andoo as the pair rounded the mark off Clark Island.

Smeg was fast downwind and continued to hold the lead over the following two legs of the course but as the breeze freshened a little Andoo’s rig proved decisive and once the experienced team regained the lead the race was all-but won.

The visiting teams, particularly C-Tech, Black Swan and Black Knight (Heinrich Von Bayern) all showed glimpses of good form while the Danish team (Jesper Brondum) finished 12th in its first race on the harbour.

Today’s result sheet and photos (by Michael Chittenden) are attached

THE 2022 JJ Giltinan Championship race dates are:
March 5 Race 1, George Calligeros Trophy
March 6 Race 2, Cliff Monkhouse Memorial Trophy
March 8 Race 3, Alan Cole Memorial Trophy
March 9 Races 4 & 5, A.J. Reynolds Trophy
March 10 Races 6 & 7, Bill Miller Memorial Trophy
March 12 Race 8, Big Kite Memorial Trophy
March 13 Race 9

Spectators can follow the racing on board the spectator ferry. Booking online through the club’s website is essential at: http://www.18footers.com.au/18-footers-sailing/spectator-ferry/

For those unable to make it out onto the water, Sail Media’s live-as-it-happens broadcast team will be on Sydney Harbour to capture all the action.

Live streaming at: http://www.18footers.com by clicking on the ’18 Footers TV’ link.

Frank Quealey/18 Footers media

Selden Asymetric Rib Technology
Cyclops Marine
Selden Asymetric Rib Technology
NAV at Home