As early as March of this year, the 21st edition of the race was headed for a record turnout in excess of 60 teams in what would have been the Round Ireland’s 40th Anniversary year.

Organisers have confirmed the next edition of the Race will start from Alicante, Spain, in October 2022 and finish in Genova, Italy, in the summer of 2023 during the 50th jubilee anniversary year of the Race.

In its place will be organised a long day race in the English Channel using laid and virtual marks, starting and finishing in Cowes.

This unique concept is simple. Buy building plans (Euro$300) hand tools, plywood, glass and epoxy, then start building your Globe 5.80 dreams. All on a budget of 5-600 hours labour and Euro $16-35,000 depending on where you want to go!

As Quentin Wallop, the Earl of Portsmouth rounded the Horn during the Second Whitbread Round the World Yacht Race in 1977/8, aboard the British maxi yacht Great Britain II.

The 384-nautical-mile coastal race was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and will now start on 3 October being the second race of the 2020-21 Blue Water Pointscore.

There will be three courses between Cherbourg-en-Cotentin and La Trinité-sur-Mer, open to the Ultime, Imoca, Multi50, Class40, Multi 2000, Large Monohull Open, IRC, Classic Yacht and Figaro Beneteau classes.

Sleep deprivation is a constant battle and can lead to hallucinations for many sailors during the course of a race.

The race will replace the originally scheduled Channel Race and is open to COVID-19 compliant crews following Government regulations in both the Two Handed and family/same-household classes.

This biennial Offshore Category 1 race is a classic 390nm downwind passage to Sanya, on the island of Hainan in southern China.

Three major events have been cancelled but others have been deferred or are expected to take place in August as scheduled.

With five months to go to the start of the Vendée Globe, almost all of the competitors have relaunched their boats and restarted their preparation for the ninth edition.

The Ocean Racing Club of Victoria is presenting a rare opportunity to take part in three online navigation courses by the world-renowned navigator, Will Oxley, and respected Melbourne double-handed sailor, Rod Smallman.

The big teams have been able to change the shape of their foils based around the type of race.

A fresh fleet of adventurers look set to sail to Hobart, following the introduction of a two-handed division in the race for the first time.

Gaëtan Thomas, aged 32, wants to beat the solo, non-stop, around the world speed record for a Class40, currently standing at 137 days.