Spithill hid elbow injury during America's Cup

 Jimmy Spithill is heading for surgery to rectify an elbow injury he claims he disguised during last year's remarkable America's Cup victory over Team New Zealand.

Spithill, who won the world sailor of the year award on the back of orchestrating Oracle Team USA's brilliant comeback against the Kiwis, has turned down a Sydney to Hobart racing opportunity to finally get the problem elbow fixed.

His rehabilitation will also rule him out of the world Moth championships in Victoria in January, a regatta where many of the America's Cup syndicates, including Team New Zealand, will have their top sailors competing to improve their foiling techniques.

Australian Spithill proved a master of the mind games as he led Oracle back from the brink of defeat as they trailed Team New Zealand 8-1.

For full report head to Stuff.

Sun Odyssey 380
M.O.S.S Australia
Nav at Home
Lagoon 51
Sailworld_Banner_600x500
M.O.S.S Australia
Listings Added
Lagoon 51