Sail Brisbane report and video – Slingsby on fire

Round one of the 2009 Sail Down Under series began yesterday with the opening day of Sail Brisbane.


The Australian Sailing Team's Tom Slingsby leads the way in the Laser fleet in his first race since winning the Sail for Gold Regatta in Weymouth in September.

Slingsby took victory in race one and a second place in race two, and is followed by Chile's Martias Del Solar Go in second and Tom Burton in third.

“I was a bit rusty in the boat today,” said Slingsby. “I haven't done much training before the event but it was good to get out there, we had some good close racing.”

“In the first race the top five were within ten seconds of each other at each mark, I'm certainly enjoying it out there, I love being back in the Laser.”

“We had some great racing in both of the day's races, there are a few good guys, a few internationals and the Australian Sailing Development Squad sailors so if you make a mistake you pay for it,” he said.

Brendan Casey currently leads the Finn class, taking the honours in the opening two races with the UK's Henry Bagnall in second and Chris Caldecot in third position.

In the Laser 4.7 class Josh Franklin and Daniel Smith are tied for first, with both sailors finishing the day with a first and second placing.

Ireland's Annalise Murphy leads the Radial Women's class ahead of ASDS sailor Laura Baldwin with Lyndall Paterson third. In the Open class Ben Franklin, Brendan Torpelund, Mitchell Kennedy and Annalise Murphy are all tied for first position. Germany's Chiara Steinmuller leads the Girls Youth class while Ben Franklin, Brendan Torpelund and Mitchell Kennedy are tied first in the Boys Youth class.

In the 29er class Adam Lahey and Troy Rushton are first with Angus Rankin and Grant Hudson in second position. Sydney brothers Alexander and Patrick Conway lead the fleet in the 470 class after winning the opening two races while Angus Galloway and Alex Gough are first in the 420 class.

The Foiling Moth class was troubled with gear breakages throughout the day but out on the water Benjamin Rankine won both races and leads from Justin Spillman. Luke Baillie, from RQYS, leads the R:SX class ahead of Joel Tyack.

Joel Turner leads the Sabot class ahead of local sailors Alex Ker, Ed Duhig and Natalie Koreman. In the International Optimists Hugh Cronin is in first with Kyle O'Connell second and Klaus Lorenze third.


You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.



M.O.S.S Australia
Jeanneau SO380
JPK August 2023
Cyclops Marine