Provisional Australian Sailing Youth Team announced

The provisional Australian Sailing Youth Team (ASYT) has been announced at the 2020 Australian Youth Championships at Sorrento Sailing and Couta Boat Club (SSCBC).  The team, which requires ratification from the Australian Sailing Board before being finalised, will represent Australia at the Hempel Youth Sailing World Championships in Salvador, Brazil in 12 – 19 December 2020.

The announcement came after only two days of four were raced at the Australian Youth Championships due to light wind and smoke haze from the Australian bushfires.

Michael Compton (WA) from South of Perth Yacht Club and Fremantle Sailing Club is representing Australia in the Laser Radial Boys after winning the Youths.  “It’s not the way I wanted to win the regatta by not sailing the last two days” said Michael.  “I’m excited to go to Brazil and sail for Australia.”

Nacra 15 crew Georgia Payne (WA) from South of Perth Yacht Club and Nathan Bryant (NSW) Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club won by a count back with the Australian Youth Championships as the decider.  “It’s a really good feeling” said Nathan.  “It has been a long road up to this event.”

The Int 29er Girls Zoe Dransfield and Madeleine Mcleay (NSW) from Middle Harbour Yacht Club were excited to get the spot on the team.  “It’s pretty surreal to work towards a goal the past year and to have it happen” said Madeleine.

Zoe added, “It’s an honour to represent Australia.”

Int 420 Girls Youth winners Bridget Conrad and India Gilbert (NSW) said the regatta had been a good learning experience for them.  “It was pretty exciting to get first girls at this regatta,” said Bridget.  “We were consistent the first two days and we managed to do six races without using our drop.  We trained against the boys in NSW and the girls at this event are really good.  We are trying to keep up with both the boys and the girls.”

The provisional Australian Youth Sailing Team is:

Int 29er Boys:Ethan Galbraith and Charles Zeeman (TAS)

Int 29er Girls: Zoe Dransfield and Maddie Mcleay (NSW)

Int 420 Boys:              Linus Talacko and Lachlan Grogan (VIC)

Int 420 Girls:              Bridget Conrad and India Gilbert (NSW)

Laser Radial Boys:    Michael Compton (WA)

Laser Radial Girls:    Mina Ferguson (NSW)

Nacra 15:                    Georgia Payne and Nathan Bryant (WA/NSW)

Techno 293 Plus:      Grae Morris (NSW)

Techno 293 Plus:      Amelia Quinlan (NSW)


Australian Sailing wishes to thank our Partner Choice Hotels for their support of Australian Youth Sailing.  Choice Hotels are offering members of the Australian Sailing community the opportunity to win up to 50,000 Choice Privilege Points by signing up to become a Choice Privileges Member today here:

How to Follow




Photo credit: Beau Outteridge

Jeanneau JY55
Race Yachts
Selden Asymetric Rib Technology
NAV at Home