Hooligan and Nine Dragons lead CYCA Trophy Series

Day one of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia (CYCA) Trophy Series – the last major offshore hit-out before the Rolex Sydney Hobart – got underway today with a super competitive line-up making the start on Sydney Harbour.

Marcus Blackmore’s TP52 Hooligan (Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club) led the fleet out of Sydney Heads in a fresh summer nor' easterly. It was followed closely by interstate entrant, Hugh Ellis’ RP63 Voodoo (Ocean Racing Club of Victoria).

It was down to the wire with Hooligan and Voodoo at the finish for line honours, but it was Hooligan that took the win in IRC Division 1 from Smuggler and Voodoo.

In Division 2, Nine Dragons (Middle Harbour Yacht Club), recent winner at the SSORC, got the best of Sydney Hobart entry, Bruce Taylor’s Caprice 40 Chutzpah from Royal Yacht Club of Victoria and his long-term crew.

MarkGorbatov/Mark Siebert’s Blink was third, with Michael Spies finishing fourth with his vintage S&S 39, Mark Twain, in the pair’s first race since he purchased her.

The two-day CYCA Trophy series finished today. Follow racing on the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s website: www.cyca.com.au

Jeanneau JY60
M.O.S.S Australia
Race Yachts
Selden Asymetric Rib Technology