Exciting new 18ft Skiff season ahead with 17 teams lining up

New teams, existing teams, and a return of some of the world’s best 18ft skiff sailors of the past decade, will highlight the Australian 18 Footers League’s exciting 2018-2019 Season, which begins on Sydney Harbour, on Sunday, 14 October.

The opening race of the season is Race 1 of the seven-race Spring Championship, with a fleet of 17 teams lining up for the challenge.

The Spring Championship will be conducted each Sunday from October 14-November 18 (inclusive) over the Australian 18 Footers League 3-buoy courses.

A spectator ferry will follow all the racing, leaving Double Bay Public Wharf, alongside the clubhouse and rigging area, at 2pm.

After the result of each race in the series, the ‘handicap’ allocation changes, with the final result usually coming down to the final race in the championship.

Highlight of the 2018-2019 Season will be the JJ Giltinan Championship, which will be sailed on Sydney Harbour from March 2-10, 2019.

Following the win by the New Zealand ‘Honda Marine’ team in 2018, the locals are determined to grab the championship trophy back and this season’s fleet is the strongest for a few years.

Three-time Giltinan champion Michael Coxon returns to replace Lee Knapton as skipper of ‘Smeg’ while seven-times winning Giltinan skipper Seve Jarvin is also back in the ‘Winning Group’ team with John Winning Jr., and Sam Newton.

Last year’s runner-up in the Giltinan Championship, ‘Asko Appliances’, skippered by James Dorron, will again be at the head of the challenge as will some of the younger teams who will gain from their experience in 2017-2018.

The fleet for the 2018-2019 Season is:

Smeg: Michael Coxon, Ricky Bridge, Mike McKensey

Yandoo: John Winning, Michael Kennedy, Cameron McDonald

Asko Appliances: James Dorron, Harry Bethwaite, TBA

R Marine: Simon Nearn, Cam Gundy, Brandon Buynik

Appliancesonline.com.au: Brett Van Munster, Phil Marshall, Kurt Fatouris

Rag & Famish Hotel: Bryce Edwards, Rory Cox, Jacob Broom

The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines: Arom Everett, Courtney Maher, Geoff Little

Lumix: Tom Anderson, John Walton, Nick Daly

Vintec: Kirk Mitchell, Daniel Barnett, Tim Westwood

The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone: Jordan Girdis, Lachlan Doyle, Tom Quigley

Dal Zotto: Jack Sprague, Tim Narborough, Josh Feldmann

Noasesailing: Sean Langman, rest TBA

Finport Trade Finance: Keagan York, Matt Stenta, Charlie Gundy

Ilve: Jono Whitty, Pedro Vozone, Tim Lake

Winning Group: John Winning Jr, Sam Newton, Seve Jarvin

Bing Lee: Micah Lane, Peter Harris, Mark Kennedy

TBA: Yvette Herirage, Richard Heritage, Daniel McLachlan

Follow the 18s at: www.18footers.com

Frank Quealey/Australian 18 Footers League

Jeanneau JY60
JPK August 2023