Australia Yellow wins Southern Cross Cup in Rolex Sydney Hobart

The return of the Southern Cross Cup in conjunction with the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race has seen victory go to the Australian Yellow team made up of Ichi Ban, Gweilo and St Jude.

With Matt Allen’s Ichi Ban winning the race for a second time and Matt Donald and Chris Townsend’s Gweilo finishing second overall, the team was always going to be hard to beat. But the win came down to CYCA Vice Commodore, Noel Cornish’s finish with St Jude, which finished 39th overall to win Division 3.

Second was the Derwent Sailing Club team of Phillip Turner’s Alive, Shaun Tiedemann’s Willie Smith’s Philosopher and Greg Prescott’s 2 Unlimited). Third was the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia Black team of Quest (Craig Neil/Bob Steel), Chinese Whisper (David Griffith) and Wots Next (Charles Cupit). There were 19 other teams vying for victory and the perpetual trophy.

Modelled on the Admiral’s Cup in the United Kingdom, the inaugural Southern Cross Cup was in 1967 and discontinued in 2001, before a one-off return in 2013 when the team of Wild Rose (Roger Hickman), Victoire (Darryl Hodgkinson) and Patrice (Tony Kirby) won it.

The Southern Cross Cup is open to three-boat teams from Australia, Australian states and overseas, competing under IRC and representing a country, states or yacht clubs.

Teams this year represented Australia, NSW, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia, along with five CYCA teams, three from Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (NSW) and two each from the Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron (Qld) and Sandringham Yacht Club (Vic). Single teams also represented the Derwent Sailing Squadron (TAS), Middle Harbour Yacht Club (NSW), Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club (NSW); Royal Brighton Yacht Club (Vic) and Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania (Tas).

By Rupert Guinness, RSHYR media

Jeanneau JY60
Cyclops Marine
NAV at Home