2018 Pantaenius Classic Yacht Regatta hailed a success

Once again a fantastic roll up of magnificent classic yachts, treated by perfect conditions for the Pantaenius Classic Yacht Regatta, hosted by Royal Motor Yacht Club Broken Bay.

Yachts representing eight different clubs, came together to compete in this the fifth running of the event. Twenty yachts ranging in build date from the early 1900’s through to the year 2000. Love & War, Fare Thee Well, Defiance, Vittoria, Heart Seas, Cherub, Anitra V just to mention a few.

The presence of the 8 metre Defiance, stole the show with not only her good looks but with the star-studded crew onboard; including Colin Beashel OAM, Hugh Treharne OAM, Carl Ryves, Harold Cudmore, David Giles, Andrew Cutler and a few more, plus of course Nicole Shrimpton the very proud owner.

The Classic Yacht Tradition continues and “Keeping the tradition alive” is what this regatta is all about. Royal Motor is very proud to host this event, which is now a standout in the calendar alongside its array of unique aquatic events.

As stated, perfect conditions were on hand as the yachts sailed up Pittwater across Broken Bay and around Lion Island. With a 10-15 knot north easterly wind and blue skies on hand, spinnakers were set for the run home. All crews commented on how good the sail was and how good the spectacular views were.

There were three race categories including Couta Boats and Rangers, Classic Non-Spinnaker and Classic Spinnaker. The fleet was also enhanced by the inclusion of three 5.5m Class yachts.

Couta Boat/Ranger Division:
1st Kathleen Mary             Kelly Holder        Couta Boat 1990
2nd Cariad                            James George                         2000
3rd Sylvia                              Larry Eastwood                       1989

Classic Non-Spinnaker:
1st Antares         Martin Cross                       5.5m                      1973
2nd Radiant         John Balderstone               Dalley Moore 1938
3rd Solveig           Bob Allen                             Halvorsen            1950

Classic Spinnaker:
1st Skagerak                        Bob Stoddard    5.5m                          1973
2nd Fare Thee Well           Clive Gregory     Alan Payne 12       1964
3rd Anitra V                         Philip Brown      Halvorsen 38         1956

We thank the owners and crews for making this another fantastic event.  We also thank our sponsors who contribute to make this event what it is: Pantaenius Sail and Motor Insurance, B&G, Stella Artois, Robert Oatley Wines and Musto.

– Rob Brown OAM

Selden Asymetric Rib Technology
Race Yachts
JPK 11.80 July 2024
M.O.S.S Australia
West Systems