Marcus Grimes’ entry Insomnia, a JV42 from Pittwater in NSW, took the total to date to exactly 100.

Significant additions to the rules include the approval of HF radio weather facsimile units that will allow entrants to receive current and future forecast weather maps direct on-board.

Following the traditional three capes route, the race will begin with a prologue from a northern European city before taking competitors to Portugal, South Africa, New Zealand, and Brazil.

Seventy-eight boats are preparing to take on the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s 384-nautical-mile challenge, starting on Saturday 27 July.

Three waves, totalling 90 entries, will set off in the biennial 2225-mile race from Los Angeles to Honolulu.

Everyone is looking forward to seeing the competitors sailing on boats that have just come out of the yards, including Alex Thomson's new Hugo Boss.

IDEC SPORT will have a quiet summer now. Francis and his crew will get some rest after the long Mediterranean voyage and then gradually prepare for the major events that lie ahead, in particular the new record–breaking programme in Asia this autumn.

This retro race reopens once-in-a-lifetime opportunities for ordinary sailors and adventurous yacht owners to race around the world in stages.

In the last Fastnet Race, JPKs featured in eight of the 11 Podium divisions.

The CYCA will provide a platform for two-handed yachts to participate in a four-race series – comprising two races of the 2019 Ocean Pointscore in addition to two races in a 2020 two-handed division.

Yoann Richomme completed an impressive overall victory, winning ahead of second-placed Gilda Mahé by one hour and 13 minutes after a total of 14 days, 2 hours and 20 minutes of racing.

After passing around the final turning mark of the course this afternoon, Saint-Marcouf on the east side of the Cherbourg peninsula, the fleet has spread far and wide to follow three basic strategies.

On familiar waters, Britain’s Will Harris (Hive Energy) has proven well capable of staying with the most accomplished sailors in this highly competitive fleet.

While crew lists for August's Rolex Fastnet Race are far from finalised, currently just over 10% of those competing in the Royal Ocean Racing Club's biennial voyage from Cowes to Plymouth via the Fastnet Rock will be women.

Le Cam won the Barcelona World Race and finished sixth in the 2017 Vendee Globe, but has no sponsor for the next Vendee - yet.