The first competitors have already arrived in Fort de France, where racing will take place on the Baie de Fort de France.

With entries already flowing in for the three major events around Christmas, the time is ripe for competitors to donate.

The China SailGP Team will be helmed by veteran New Zealander Phil Robertson and the crew includes Australian James Wierzbowski as flight controller.

McConaghy put his win down to a key moment on the run to the finish of the long distance race on Sunday.

Located adjacent to the iconic waters of Port Phillip, the conditions are near perfect for sailing at this time of year, with reliable breezes giving great racing and fantastic wave conditions.

Although approaching his 83rd birthday, Don Calvert shows no signs of slowing down, taking out all three handicap categories in the Combined Clubs Summer Pennant.

Two former champions, Steve McConaghy and Ray Roberts, are just two points apart.

The leaders are sailing in wind strengths where on paper they could be using the spinnaker, but where they could make do with the gennaker, if they luff up a little.

A frustrating stop-start beginning to day two included a general recall in light NE winds, a course reset to ENE then that race blown off.

In the Beneteau class, Australia’s Joseph O’Keeffe is second overall, while Ray Roberts won the morning windward-leeward race.

General feeling is that Nika's biggest block for the title will come from Dean Barker's old ETNZ team mate, Ray Davies on Nico Poons' Charisma.

Light airs are not the Aussies style, nevertheless, Joseph O’Keeffe’s Vanhang Longcheer, is in the lead, despite being caught in a glass out – other Australians were not so lucky.

When the 8-knot breeze dropped to almost nothing before the finish, the 24-boat Beneteau fleet was reshuffled as some of the frontrunners sailed into a wind hole while their rivals breezed on past.

Lewis Bennett has reached a deal with US prosecutors to plead guilty to the involuntary manslaughter of Isabella Hellmann in exchange for murder charges being dropped.

Kookaburra II and III and Kiwi Magic are among the Grand Prix Division entries.